FOR AN EXISTENTIAL PAINTING

ANNE DAGBERT 1992 (aica)

 I often wonder why a young artist today chooses to devote himself to resolutely figurative painting, outside of consensual trends and institutional strategies. If he does, gets along, not out of ignorance and naivety, but in full knowledge of the facts and having reflected on the meaning of the works of the past and on the course of the history of art. He chooses in a way to "get out" of the abstract path on the one hand and the conceptual impasse on the other. Boldly, he does not stay, like so many others, between abstraction and figuration and frankly takes the party to represent a subject, because this is still the best means of fully expressing existential anguish. The fact is rare enough for it to be noticed.

Remi Bourquin avec les animaux

 This is the case of Remi Bourquin who transcribes in his painting, which one could call "classic" without fear that it will be accused of conservatism, a malaise of civilization, subject of a major interest, everyone will agree. His talent as a painter effectively allows him to use the figuration of pretext subjects - few artists are currently able to use the traditional resources of representativeness of painting to translate his nostalgia for a world which made sense, nostalgia which is the ours, yours, without  daring to admit it.

 

 Our world has lost its old ideological structures without replacing them. It is invaded by the lures of ephemerality and the artifices of superficiality. Remi Bourquin feels this disturbance, transposed into his personal life by the irremediable loss of the family cocoon which protected him against disorder and fear. Considering the animal in its cage, in a closed room but receiving an even and serene overhead lighting. "It's okay not to have to search for food," he says. He then painted these tranquil animals, these gardens of the Alcazar in Seville, restful and orderly, in the manner of self-portraits, in order to rediscover the first sensation of a protected universe. The idea of ​​the cage is not assimilated to that of a prison. The lines that structure the paintings are symmetrical and drawn along a vertical axis. Need for order to calm anxiety.

 

 The animal motionless in a circumscribed space, a "living picture" in the eternity of its appearance, the viewer of the spectator who contemplates it, is also, of course. a metaphor for painting. Could it be because of this secret anguish, concealed and revealed at the same time as the role of metaphor - that Remi Bourquin's painting exerts its attraction ?

POUR UNE PEINTURE EXISTENTIELLE

ANNE DAGBERT 1992 (a.i.c.a)

 Je me demande souvent pourquoi un jeune artiste choisit aujourd'hui de s'adonner à une peinture résolument figurative, en dehors des courants consensuels et des stratégies institutionnelles. S'il le fait, s'entend, non par ignorance et naïveté, mais en toute connaissance de cause et ayant réfléchi sur le sens des oeuvres du passé et sur le déroulement de l'histoire de l'art. Il choisit en quelque sorte de "sortir" de la voie abstraite d'une part et de l'impasse conceptuelle d'autre part. Hardiment, il ne se maintient pas, comme tant d'autres, entre abstraction et figuration et prend franchement le parti de représenter un sujet, car celui- ci est encore le meilleur moyen d'exprimer pleinement une angoisse existentielle. Le fait est assez rare pour qu'il soit remarqué.

Remi Bourquin avec les animaux

 
C'est le cas de Rėmi Bourquin qui transcrit dans sa peinture, que l'on pourrait appeler "classique" sans craindre qu'elle soit taxée de conservatisme, un malaise de civilisation, sujet d'un intérêt majeur, tout le monde en conviendra. Son talent de peintre lui permet effectivement d'utiliser la figuration de sujets prétextes - peu d'artistes sont capables actuellement d'employer les ressources traditionnelles de représentativité de la peinture pour traduire sa nostalgie d'un monde qui faisait sens, nostalgie qui est la nôtre, la vôtre, sans que nous osions l'avouer.

 

Notre monde a perdu ses structures idéologiques anciennes sans les remplacer. Il est envahi par les leurres de l'éphémérité et les artifices de la superficialité. Rėmi Bourquin ressent ce trouble, transposé dans sa vie personnelle par la perte irrémédiable du cocon familial qui le protégeait contre le désordre et la peur. Considérant l'animal dans sa cage, dans une pièce close mais recevant un éclairage zénithal égal et serein. "ce n'est pas un problème de ne pas avoir à chercher sa nourriture", dit-il. Il peint alors ces animaux tranquilles, ces jardins de l'Alcazar à Séville, reposants et ordonnės, en manière d'autoportraits, afin de retrouver la sensation première d'un univers protégé. L'idée de la cage n'est pas assimilée à celle d'une prison. Les lignes qui structurent les tableaux sont symétriques et dessinées selon un axe vertical. Besoin d'ordre pour calmer l'angoisse.

 

L'animal immobile dans un espace circonscrit, "tableau vivant" dans l'éternité de son apparence, regardeur du spectateur qui le contemple, est aussi, bien évidemment. une métaphore de la peinture. Serait-ce à cause de cette angoisse secrète, recélée et révélée dans le même temps rôle de la métaphore - que la peinture de Rémi Bourquin exerce son attrait ?