SKY HORIZONS
Paris, 1995 - Philippe Carteron

"For my feeling, space is one from the horizon to the interior of my bedroom-studio", underlined Henri Matisse. Rémi Bourquin could endorse this opinion. The series of skies, his work on space, which he gives us here follows very logically and very nicely to that of "Windows". A series of works which developed a pictorial metaphor by identifying the frame of a window with the wooden frame of a canvas. Pierre Bonnard, Henri Matisse again and others also made use of this sovereign ellipse, finally opening up painting to the world. By the primacy of the celestial masses in his last works Rémi Bourquin declines the moments, the moments taken on the spot which he notes taking care not to stray from a classic invoice. The almost imperceptible brushstrokes bear witness to the muted struggle that took place in the closed field of the painting. No title, but a simple date and time (of its completion) are hidden behind the canvas.

Rémi Bourquin paints in bursts, seeks in prolixity a truth, his artist's truth. Looking at the sky, the painter contemplates the infinite, the abysses and a certain vertigo captures our gaze. Clouds, trails, but no gaps. A light bathes the whole, but the sun can be guessed more than it is revealed. But slowly Rémi Bourquin instills a feeling of doubt, of anguish, a sort of safeguard against all aestheticizing excesses. This intangible touches us and the unlimited mass disturbs us. It is the absolute territory of the experience, of the spiritual quest which is delivered in these visions which take height. Rémi Bourquin accentuates the emotion with another series of paintings in which images of beaches and shores follow one another. There the sky merges with the ocean. The horizon disappears into the distance. The work of light and color becomes both dense and intense. Incongruous reliefs find a haven on the sand and by their presence add an additional element to the immensity of the landscape. The spaces overwhelm us like the waves that we can guess in the distance and which will soon break.

“These canvases were painted from memory. I wanted to restore the sensations I had experienced at the sight of the great beaches of Cotentin ”. It is the feelings of suffocation that drown him, the emptiness that overwhelms him and this silence that becomes so noisy. Rémi Bourquin never ceases to exorcise these shackles which, far from reducing and paralyzing him, animate him, motivate his inspiration. The painter tells us about "dereliction" and the man who generates it, complies with it and then escapes from it to finally live. We suddenly remember the romantic masterpiece of Caspar David Friedrich "Traveler contemplating a sea of clouds" where again the loneliness of being in front of the immensity of nature is stigmatized in a single strong image. A few sentences gleaned from RM Rilke in Worpswede come back to mind: “the landscape is unknown to us, and we are terribly alone among trees that smell flower and streams that flow. Alone with a dead man, we are far from being as helpless as alone with trees ”. So what to express in front of a sky? So what to say in front of a sea? To be silent, to remember or to snort in order to escape. Curiously, in a year of workshop Rémi Bourquin worked again on all the subjects which had enamelled his young career, taking again point by point the landscapes and these astonishing animals in cages. Today Rémi Bourquin puts in order the things seen, felt, loved and accumulated. The artist allows himself in his rereadings an additional space for reflection before undertaking another collection of emotions and works to be born. But the paintings he delivers to our vision are never repeated and bring other questions about this reality that the painter is in charge of. He pursues again and again what he calls Truth with the weapons at his disposal. Each painting becomes a choice, a reason, a battle to be fought and won. An imagination to build. A memory to save. Memories to exorcise.

LES HORIZONS DE CIELS
Paris, 1995 - Philippe Carteron

 «Pour mon sentiment, l'espace ne fait qu'un depuis l'horizon jusqu'à l'intérieur de ma chambre-atelier», soulignait Henri Matisse. Rémi Bourquin pourrait faire sienne cette opinion. La série des ciels, son travail sur l'espace, qu'il nous livre ici succède fort logiquement et fort joliment à celle des «Fenêtres». Une suite d'oeuvres qui élaborait une métaphore picturale en identifiant le cadre d'une fenêtre au châssis de bois d'une toile. Pierre Bonnard, Henri Matisse encore et d'autres usèrent également de cette ellipse souveraine ouvrant enfin la peinture au Monde. Par la primauté des masses célestes dans ses derniers travaux Rémi Bourquin décline les instants, les moments pris sur le vif qu'il note prenant soin de ne pas s'éloigner d'une facture classique. Les coups de pinceau presque imperceptibles témoignent de la lutte sourde qui s'est déroulée dans le champ clos du tableau. Pas de titre, mais une simple date et une heure (de son achèvement) se cachent à l'arrière de la toile.

Rémi Bourquin peint en salve, cherche dans la prolixité une vérité, sa vérité d'artiste. En regardant le ciel le peintre contemple l'infini, les abimes et un certain vertige capte notre regard. Des nuages, des trainées, mais pas de trouées. Une lumière baigne l'ensemble, mais le soleil se devine plus qu'il ne se révèle. Mais lentement Rémi Bourquin instille un sentiment de doute, d'angoisse, sorte de garde-fou à toutes les dérives esthétisantes. Cet intangible nous touche et la masse illimitée nous trouble. C'est le territoire absolu de l'expérience, de la quête spirituelle qui est livré dans ces visions qui prennent de la hauteur. Rémi Bourquin accentue l'émotion avec une autre série de toiles où des images de plages et de rivages se succèdent. Là le ciel se confond à l'océan. L'horizon disparaît dans le lointain. Le travail de la lumière et de la couleur devient à la fois dense et intense. Des reliefs incongrus trouvent un havre sur le sable et ajoutent par leur présence un élément supplémentaire à l'immensité du paysage. Les espaces nous submergent comme ces vagues que l'on devine au loin et qui ne sauraient tarder à déferler.

«Ces toiles furent peintes de mémoire. Je voulais restituer les sensations que j'avais éprouvées à la vue des grandes plages du Cotentin». Ce sont les sentiments d'étouffement qui le noient, le vide qui le foudroie et ce silence qui devient si bruyant. Rémi Bourquin ne cesse d'exorciser ces carcans qui loin de le réduire et le paralyser, l'animent, motivent son inspiration. Le peintre nous conte la «déréliction» et l'homme qui la génère, s'y plie puis s'en évade pour enfin vivre. On se souvient soudain du chef d'œuvre romantique de Caspar David Friedrich «Voyageur contemplant une mer de nuages» où là encore la solitude de l'être devant l'immensité de la nature est stigmatisée en une seule et forte image. Et reviennent en mémoire quelques phrases glanées chez R.M. Rilke dans Worpswede: «le paysage est pour nous chose inconnue, et l'on est terriblement seul parmi des arbres qui fleur sent et ruisseaux qui coulent. Seul avec un mort, on est loin d'être aussi désemparé que seul avec des arbres». Alors qu'exprimer devant un ciel ? Alors que dire devant une mer ? Se taire, se souvenir ou s'ébrouer pour s'évader. Curieusement en un an d'atelier Rémi Bourquin a travaillé à nouveau sur tous les sujets qui avaient émaillé sa jeune carrière, reprenant point par point les paysages et ces étonnants animaux en cage. Aujourd'hui Rémi Bourquin met en ordre les choses vues, senties, aimées et accumulées. L'artiste s'accorde dans ses relectures un espace de réflexion supplémentaire avant d'entreprendre une autre collecte d'émotions et d'œuvres à faire naitre. Mais les toiles qu'il livre à notre vision ne se répètent jamais et apportent d'autres questionnements sur cette réalité que le peintre a en charge. Il traque encore et toujours ce qu'il nomme Vérité avec les armes dont il dispose. Chaque tableau devient un choix, une raison, une bataille à livrer et à gagner. Un imaginaire à construire. Une mémoire à sauvegarder. Des souvenirs à exorciser.